Board of Directors

To ensure our focus of ophthalmic health care remains at the core of our activities, at least 50% of Directors appointed to the Board at any one time must be ophthalmic health care professionals.

Dr James Muecke AM Chairman

James is an eye surgeon based in Adelaide. He is a visiting consultant and senior lecturer at the Royal Adelaide Hospital and Women’s and Children’s Hospital. James has a special interest in blindness prevention, ophthalmic research and education in the developing world. James was a co-founder and Director of the Vision Myanmar Program. He received an “Outstanding service to the prevention of blindness” award by the Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology in 2011. He was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in 2012 and received a South Australian Community Achievement Award. In 2015 James was the recipient of the Ernst Young Social Entrepreneur of the Year Award. James delivered the Hollows Lecture at the 2016 RANZCO Congress.

Professor Bob Casson Vice Chair

Bob is an ophthalmic surgeon-scientist with particular interest in glaucoma and ophthalmic epidemiology in the developing world. He is proud to be a founding Director of Sight For All, where he has the role of chief scientific adviser, with a particular focus on the interface between ophthalmic science and the elimination of preventable blindness in the developing world.

Phil Jaquillard Treasurer

Phil Jaquillard is a partner of Jaquillard Minns Chartered Accountants and a Director of SuperGuardian Pty Ltd. He holds a B Ec from Flinders University and a Post Grad Diploma in Accounting. Phil consults to business on a wide range of matters including taxation, business structures, information technology, wealth management and offshore business. He is actively involved in charitable projects, including as Treasurer for the Mary Potter Foundation in Adelaide, and as a volunteer and advisor to Black Pencil Project in the Philippines.

Gavin O’Callaghan Board Director

Gavin is an Optometrist in private practice, a Clinical Senior Lecturer in Ophthalmology at the University of Adelaide and has a visiting appointment at the Contact Lens Clinic at the Royal Adelaide Hospital. He is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and holds numerous Director positions. He is a member of the Optometry Council of Australia & New Zealand examination committee, and a member of the University of Melbourne Department of Optometry & Vision Sciences course advisory committee.

Michael Fotheringham Board Director

Michael is a partner at Barry Nilsson Lawyers. He has a Master of Laws majoring in Insurance Law and a Masters of Business Administration. He specialises in professional indemnity, directors and officers, casualty, public liability, product liability, insurance, special risk and business interruption claims. Michael regularly contributes articles to various journals including the Insurance Law Journal. As a Board Member Michael continues to provides his legal expertise since the formation of Sight For All.

Melissa Emmett Board Director

Melissa is the principal consultant for Emmett Marketing. She has a business degree majoring in marketing from the University of South Australia. For over 30 years her career in marketing and brand management included working with brands such as Snappy Tom, SAFCOL, Balfours, Fauldings, and SAFE. More recently as a consultant she has worked with SMSF Association, Dressed for Sale, Bedford, George Weston Foods and Optimistic Kids. Her expertise is in strategic planning and marketing advice.

Jody Rowe Board Director

Jody Rowe is a specialist in the resources and energy sector who has a strategic view of the market, its needs and potential opportunities for growth. Jody’s career includes executive roles at BG-QGC (Shell) and Santos on mega projects GLNG and QCLNG. Jody is the founder and Chief Executive Officer of Rowe Advisory, which started on her kitchen bench in 2013.  As Chief Executive Officer of Rowe Advisory Jody is a subject matter expert for Global business development, Services such as Human Resources and Contracts and Procurement, Mergers and Acquisitions and Business and strategic advice. Jody is a Non-Executive Director of Strike Energy a ASX listed Oil and Gas exploration company and is a shareholder and Director of companies such as CD Power Pty Ltd and iPIPE Pty Ltd working with MH Carnegie. Jody is a member of the Safety Leadership Group for the Coal Seam Gas industry Safer Together group. Jody is also a member of the Mining Industry Participation office advisory board for the South Australian Government. Jody grew up in a pastoral family the founders of T and R Pastoral (Thomas Foods) in South Australia who have substantial land holdings in South Australia under the banner of Princess Royal Station. Jody is a proud South Australian and is a keen golfer and traveller and the owner of the world’s most adorable Cavoodle named “Ruby”.

Dr Nick Andrew Board Director

Nick is an ophthalmology registrar and is also completing a PhD in ophthalmology, with over 20 peer-reviewed publications. Nick has accompanied Sight For All to Myanmar on two occasions to collect post-intervention cataract surgery data. Outside of ophthalmology, Nick is a keen rower and has represented Australia three times. Nick looks forward to advancing the cause of Sight For All and is delighted to serve as a Board Director.